Is the virtual server backed up?
Available backup modes
You can backup your server data by:
Manual backups are only available for the duration of the server from which the backups were created or until the user removes the backup.
enabling automated daily backups:
The oldest automatic backup is available to restore the server in the user interface until the most latest backup is created. All backups are only available for the duration of the server from which the backups were created or until the user turns off automated daily backups.
- can be activated in 3 day mode
- can be activated in 7 day mode
creating user templates (can be used, for example, to clone VPS)
User templates are not dependent on the virtual server from which they were created. User templates are available if your credit balance on your user account is sufficient or until the user removes the templates.
Payment for backup services
Backup modes are charged depending on the size of space occupied by the backups according to the pricelist.
In the case of a running server, a snapshot is created first, which is then backed up. From the backup principle itself, however, data consistency can not be fully guaranteed for running applications (typically when writing to a database during snapshot creation). The solution is therefore to perform database backups, etc., at the application level, or have the system at the start of the backup in idle mode, ideally having the services turned off or in read-only mode.
If you have running your own backup processes within your server (eg., database dump), we recommend that you plan to run the internal backup so that it is completed before running the automatic backup (the start time is visible in the user interface). The new backup mode can be activated from the server detail on the "Backup" tab in the UI.